Special Investigating Committee Formed to Investigate House Speaker Michael Madigan

Today, House Republican Leader Jim Durkin announced a petition to form a Special Investigating Committee concerning the corruption allegations of House Speaker Mike Madigan.

The petition filed coincides with information from the Deferred Prosecution Agreement entered into by ComEd and the United States Attorney’s Office.

The petition was signed by House Republican Leader Jim Durkin, Rep. Andrew Chesney, and Rep. Ryan Spain.

There are six members in total serving on the Special Investigating Committee. Republican members include; GOP Spokesperson Tom Demmer, Deanne Mazzochi, and Grant Wehrli. Democrat members include; Chairperson Emanuel Chris Welch, Elizabeth Hernandez, and Natalie Manley.

If the Special Investigating Committee finds the alleged charges are true, it would move on to the Select Committee on Discipline to determine what, if any, discipline is warranted.

If the Select Committee on Discipline makes a determination that discipline should occur, it would take 71 votes to reprimand or censure Speaker Madigan, and 79 votes to expel Speaker Madigan from the House of Representatives.

Read the Petition at: https://repmccombie.com/speaker-madigan-petition-8-31-20/