

## STATE OF ILLINOIS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

November 18, 2020

Director Theresa Eagleson, HFS Prescott Bloom Building 201 South Second Street Springfield, IL 62763

Dear Director Eagleson:

As members of the House Republican Caucus, we are aware that you are working with the Medicaid Working Group to address issues related to healthcare disparities across the State of Illinois. It is also our understanding that you are currently discussing Hospital Transformation funding for the State.

As Legislators, we represent areas across the entire State, including central and downstate Illinois. Our districts are challenged with not only access to healthcare but certainly access to hospital care. In many of our districts our constituents travel across several counties to receive hospital care. For our constituents it is not only an issue of specialty care but simply immediate care. We encounter severe medical deserts across the state, but especially in central and downstate Illinois. Poverty knows no boundaries in our state and certainly our districts suffer equally as other areas of the state. The USDA published a research article in May of this year. In that research they found that in 2018, all the extreme poverty counties were in rural America.

The health care needs of the rural communities many of us represent can best be protected by ensuring Critical Access Hospitals receive sufficient and equitable access to Hospital Transformation funding. Workers in the agricultural and meat-packing industries, many of whom are Black and Brown, rely on Critical Access Hospitals as their primary source of care.

Because access to care strongly correlates to an individual's income level, we believe that maintaining an income-based formula in allocating Hospital Transformation funding will ensure that the unique health care needs of our constituents are met, while also ensuring an equitable and fair distribution of funding statewide.

## **Director Theresa Eagleson** Page 2

We urge you to take this information into consideration as you continue to develop a plan for Hospital Transformation funding for Illinois. Using an overlay of designated poverty areas across the state is the first step in ensuring that this funding is fair and equitable across all counties.

Thank you for your time and consideration of our concerns.

Sincerely,

Jim Durkin

State Representative – 82<sup>nd</sup> District

**Bradley Stephens** 

MARIN

State Representative – 20th District

Margo Wicherman Margo McDermed

Stock !!

State Representative – 37<sup>th</sup> District

Grant Wehrli

State Representative – 41st District

Frank & June **Amy Grant** 

State Representative – 42<sup>nd</sup> District

Deanne Mazzochi

State Representative – 47<sup>th</sup> District

KARUM Keith Wheeler

State Representative – 50<sup>th</sup> District

**Tom Morrison** 

State Representative – 54th District

Than Moria

Steve Reick

State Representative – 63<sup>rd</sup> District

Tom Weber

State Representative – 64<sup>th</sup> District

Dan Ugaste

State Representative – 65th District

John Cabello

State Representative – 68<sup>th</sup> District

Joe Sosnowski

State Representative – 69<sup>th</sup> District

Jeff Keicher

State Representative – 70<sup>th</sup> District

Jony M. McCombie

Tony McCombie

State Representative – 71st District

Py Sri

Ryan Spain

State Representative – 73<sup>rd</sup> District

Dan Swanson

State Representative – 74<sup>th</sup> District

Dail Alle Watter

David A. Welter

State Representative – 75<sup>th</sup> District

Lindsay farkhuit

Lindsay Parkhurst

State Representative – 79<sup>th</sup> District

Tim Butter

Tim Butler

State Representative – 87<sup>th</sup> District

Keith Sommer

State Representative – 88<sup>th</sup> District

Andrew Chesney

State Representative – 89<sup>th</sup> District

Tom Demmer

State Representative – 90<sup>th</sup> District

Millher

Mike Unes

State Representative - 91st District

Marine K. Hammand

Norine Hammond

State Representative – 93<sup>rd</sup> District

Randy E. Frese

Randy Frese

State Representative – 94<sup>th</sup> District

Avery Bourne

**Avery Bourne** 

State Representative – 95<sup>th</sup> District

Wach Botand

Mark Batinick

State Representative – 97<sup>th</sup> District

Mile Muzely

Mike Murphy

State Representative – 99th District

C.D. Davidoneyer

DAN Gulkin

C.D. Davidsmeyer

State Representative – 100<sup>th</sup> District

Dan Caulkins

State Representative – 101st District

Brad Halbrook

**Brad Halbrook** 

State Representative – 102<sup>nd</sup> District

Mike Marron

Mike Marron

( Nan Bras

State Representative – 104<sup>th</sup> District

Dan Brady

State Representative – 105<sup>th</sup> District

Thoma M. Bennett
Thomas M. Bennett

State Representative – 106<sup>th</sup> District

Blaine Wilhour

State Representative – 107<sup>th</sup> District

Charlie Meier

State Representative – 108<sup>th</sup> District

Desil

Darren Bailey

State Representative – 109<sup>th</sup> District

Chis & Miller

Chris Miller

State Representative – 110<sup>th</sup> District

Terri Bryant

State Representative – 115<sup>th</sup> District

Dave Semi

**Dave Severin** 

State Representative – 117<sup>th</sup> District

Patrick Windhorst

State Representative – 118<sup>th</sup> District